What I learnt as a WMG Master student.

Hi! I am Irma, a student at WMG 2018/2019. I am just done with my dissertation and viva and thank God the result was on my expectation.  Looking back from my journey, I learnt some things by being a student of WMG.

  1. Ace time management

Being a WMG student means I have to be independent in most of the time. A week-full of the module looks “fun” indeed, but it also challenges me at the same time. I have full responsibility to manage my time wisely, which allows me to do things that I passionate about while doing my master study. Since I love to travel, I always try to secure some time to travel while managing my time to work on PMA, dissertation, societies and part-time jobs. I was struggling in the beginning, however, I could get used to it as time goes by!

119864cc-1da0-46de-a359-38cef98607cf
The meme that my friend made :p
  1. Improve presentations skills

In WMG, there was no single module without a presentation! As the module is usually involved in group work, students are often required to present the group work. With the frequency of presentations, I could improve my presentation skills, such as communication skill, gesture and body language. My confidence was also gradually built thanks to presentation exercises. Besides that, my ability to design an attractive presentation is also improved after seeing abundant of presentations from other friends.

IMG_5878
Me and teammates when we did Sales module #whoruntheworld #GIRLSSS
  1. Exposure to the British’s industry environment

Being a WMG student also means that I have the opportunity to visit top-notch companies in the UK. I was able to visit the Mini Plant in Oxford and witnessed how the minis are manufactured and distributed in the UK. There was also a mini gallery of Mini’s unique and special collections from past years in Oxford’s plant. It was an excellent experience for me!

IMG_5877
Mini in Union Jack!
  1. Learn from the experts

Most of our lecturers are professionals and have years of solid experience in their field. I learn from their real experience, and for me, this is one of the best learning curves that I got. Besides that, one of the teaching methods was by simulations (sometimes even games!) which put classmates and me in the ‘almost-real’ situations hence required us to act and think accordingly.

156a463c-14c8-4c9b-bc4e-7f35794951c8
Group picture after the last module is finished!
IMG_5879
My favourite elective module: Digital Marketing!

 

96558ac8-1f18-4554-ba0d-8763b7ad5ba8
My teammates :)) #GIRLS

In summary, I really enjoyed my time in WMG and got “shaped” by WMG. I believe I am now prepared for the real business environment 🙂

*) This post is also published in WMG Student Blog

Leave a comment